I Miss Angela Chase

bbcover-september-2009

I realize she was a fictional character, but Angela Chase would never say something like this:

“That was a choice I made to fall in love. It’s unpleasant to be cast in such an unflattering role, but I just had to remain steadfast,” she recalls, her body language going into self-protection mode with an arm cradling her hunched-over frame and crossed legs.

“I was living with the same kind of integrity that I had always lived with. As a public person you’re serving a certain function, and you’re a canvas for people to project their own hopes and fears onto, so you do have to perform a kind of mental trick and distance yourself from it. But there are times of weakness in which you wonder if what they wrote is relevant to you or representative of you.”

That’s how she explains her relationship with Billy Crudup (remember when he left seven-months-pregnant Mary Louise Parker for Danes?) in a new BlackBook magazine interview. Integrity? She obviously knows nothing of the word.

8 responses to “I Miss Angela Chase

  1. That’s the most verbose rationalization I’ve ever read! FYI Danes, your decision making skills suck….regardless of how many words you wrap them in.

  2. I’ve hated her ever since then…..but I hate Billy more. Who does that?

    • @Lizzie: Me too, on both counts. It really hurt me because I used to love her so much (big MSCL fan, and I loved her in other stuff, like Romeo & Juliet and Little Women). They were both selfish assholes in that situation, and she needs to own up to that and quit playing the romantic victim.

  3. Yes. Dead to me. Both of them. But look whose career is totally awesome? That’s right. MLP’s.

  4. as much as i liked MSCL, i hated angela because she was a dumbass, buuuuuuut i liked danes until i saw The Family Stone because she totally got with her sister’s finance -even though they werent meant to be together anyway, but it was like COME ON. and then yeah the whole billy crudup thing, it’s just like, yeah you suck in real life too. go be pasty somewhere.

  5. @ayl: I’ve just started watching MSCL because they put the episodes on Hulu. And as I’m watching I keep thinking, “WTF are you doing? Just stop thinking about it, and go do whatever it is your pondering!” I may have to stop watching. Clearly I’m getting into things too late here.

    • @TheMayorofBethville & @AYL: Yes, watching MSCL now, I do a lot of cringing at her stupidity and awkwardness. But then I have to remind myself how stupid and awkward I was at that age, and how much I related to that character. I mean, adult me is like, “Girl, Jordan might be hot, but he is a stupid asshole and even if y’all get together, you will be bored with his dumb ass really fast.” But teen me was all, “OMG, Jordan’s so dreamy! And he’s just misunderstood! I hope they stay together forever!” I wish it weren’t true, but I used to fall for d-bags like him all the time in high school simply because they were cute. Hormones, they’re a bitch.

Leave a Reply

