The Roller Rink Diaries: Week 4

515746964_a42c5ccd47

Sometimes when we face a challenge, we experience a few setbacks. The lesson, though, is to overcome the setback, and keep striving for the goal. Or so I’ve been telling myself since Monday’s lesson. Yeah, it wasn’t a great night on the rink.

HU052191

I fell. Hard. And more than once. My right knee (why is it always the right side of my body that suffers the abuse?)is bruised, and the swelling’s just now going down. My right palm is again bruised, as I was a bad girl, throwing down my hand to break my fall (a big no-no on the rink). So, what happened?

Honestly, I don’t know. I skated and skated, but for some reason, my confidence just wasn’t there. I kept wobbling and losing my balance, causing me to fall, or come very close, more times than I’d like to count. Don’t get me wrong, I still saw a little progress, but it didn’t go as well as I would’ve liked.

Oh, and there was one other difference.

jesse_darling

This time, the rink was split up, so the good skaters could train. These guys could really skate. One couple in particular, blew me and the rest of my class away with their acrobatics on the rink. They jumped, twirled and spun all around the floor, doing moves I’d only seen figure skaters attempt. It was pretty cool to watch.

And also very distracting.

Right now, concentration is key for me. I have to be totally focused on what I’m doing: how I lean, how I move my feet, where my arms are placed, etc. Otherwise, I wobble and fall. But with Michelle Kwan and Brian Boitano going at it mere feet away, I had a hard time focusing on my own stilted progress around the rink.

062

But I refuse to let one bad night ruin all my progress. Instead of getting upset or giving up with only one lesson left, I’m going to the open skate this weekend, to practice. Hopefully with the extra skating time, I’ll be more prepared to stay on my feet, even with the gold medalists putting me to shame.

**NEXT WEEK: It’s the final class, and honestly, I’m not sure what we’re doing. My guess is practicing what we’ve learned.

2 responses to “The Roller Rink Diaries: Week 4

  1. These entries would be great — if there were photos of you actually ON SKATES!!!

Leave a Reply

