R.I.P.

EKS

Photo: Special Olympics.

Ten years ago, I got the privilege of working as a goodwill ambassador at the Special Olympics World Games in Raleigh, NC. Among my duties, I served as a resident advisor of sorts for athletes staying in the dorms on my college campus, and I volunteered at some of the actual sporting events themselves. I’ll never forget some of the incredible people I met during that week, one that I still rank as one of the most rewarding of my life.

So today when I heard Eunice Kennedy Shriver, founder of Special Olympics, passed away at 88, I was especially saddened. I witnessed first hand the amazing impact her work has had on those with special needs in our country. The games bring joy and a sense of accomplishment to the athletes, and a feeling of intense pride and fulfillment to those who help make them possible. It’s fitting that Eunice Kennedy Shriver’s legacy will live on through the thousands of lives Special Olympics touches every year.

One response to “R.I.P.

  1. She’s an admirable figure who’s legacy brought society into the 21st century. I always viewed her as the most remarkable, ethical, and genuine of the Kennedy family.

Leave a Reply

