A Holiday Tradition

ten_commandmentsSince I’m a lucky girl and get tomorrow off (it’s Good Friday, you heathens!)I thought I’d celebrate by sharing my favorite thing about Easter, well, other than the candy. It’s the annual television showing of the classic, The Ten Commandments. In it’s day (1956), it was one of the most epic movies to hit the screen. It won the Oscar for best special effects (which is kind of hilarious now) and was nominated in six other categories, including best picture. But Oscar cred doesn’t explain why I love it so much.

For one thing, I’m a sucker for old-Hollywood epics. The cheesier, the better. I love the large-scale sets, the thousands of extras and the uproarious music. It’s so theatrical, and so fabulous.

264688

Then there’s Yul Brynner as Rameses. Good Lord almighty, that man is sexy in this movie! He’s half naked the whole time, all buff and arrogant, scowling and threatening to kill. It’s HOT, HOT, HOT. Seriously. Not to mention Anne Baxter is a bit of a sexy little minx playing Nefretiri.

Then there’s the straight up cheese. We’re talking Velveeta covered in Cheez Whiz with a layer of Easy Cheese on top. The pillar of fire! The parting of the Red Sea! Charlton Heston’s beard! It’s all so amazingly cheesetastic. And I LOVE it.

Sure, there’s a lot of wrong in this flick (the only black people are servants, the Egyptian queen is a pale-ass white girl, Charlton Heston gnawing the scenery), but I can give that stuff a pass to enjoy the epic level of awesome.

If you want to see for yourself, tune in at 7 p.m. EST this Saturday on ABC (check local listings for exact schedule). I promise, you won’t be disappointed.

And until then, enjoy this brilliant parody:

8 responses to “A Holiday Tradition

  1. DeMille lived in my hometown (Washington) for awhile! Hooray.

  2. Yul Brynner was a total dreamboat.

  3. I love that parody. “This is a miracle, and I want you to fuckin’ acknowledge it!”

  4. is it better than planet of the apes??

  5. oh well now i’m sold!

  6. I’m with you, I watch it every year just for the cheese/nostalgia/fire and brimstone of it all!

Leave a Reply

