eHarmony: I Call Shenanigans

94f06369c8439064e3871665b64bf125 eHarmony commercials get on my nerves. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not down on love. I think that’s a great thing. Maybe it’s because the site refuses to match gay people, maybe it’s because Neil Clark Warren kind of creeps me out. Whatever it is, the ads annoy me. The earlier spots heavily featured NCW and some less-than-photogenic couples matched by the site. Sure, these people weren’t cover models, but they were realistic. I had no doubt they’d met on the site. But the new breed of eHarmony couples are so pretty, and I’m sorry, but I’m just a little skeptical. It’s not that I don’t believe attractive people find love on the internet, because they certainly do. But these people just seem a little too perfect. My suspicions were piqued even further when I saw this Nyquil commercial: gviewSee this guy? The one who gives his buddy some Nyquil in the commercial? Doesn’t he look eerily similar to this guy:

Maybe they’re two completely different fellas. But watch both commercials and tell me you didn’t have to think twice about it. Neil Clark Warren, I’m onto you!

8 responses to “eHarmony: I Call Shenanigans

  1. All of the dating sites give me the creeps. And this just reinforces the fact – Yuk. Yuk.Yuk.

    If love doesn’t stumble into my life by way of the grocery store or Barnes & Noble, then I accept my SOL fate!

  2. @AGreenEyedDevil: That is how I feel about it too. I’ve tried it, and both guys I went out with stunk of desperation. And it made me wonder if I stunk of desperation. And no one wants to stink like that. So I just wander around through life and allow whatever is going to happen happen.

  3. @AGreenEyeDevil, @TheMayorofBethville: I once tried Match and it was AWFUL. The only guys who tried to talk to me were creepy old men and guys with obscured pics. One of the creepy old guys actually sent me a message asking if I was spontaneous, and then asking if so, would I want to come over that night to hook up. And his profile was full of pictures of his bedroom. Ugh, gross, creepy!

    Meanwhile, I go to a concert where I have absolutely no hope or intention of meeting someone and find the guy I’ll probably end up marrying. That’s just how life works.

  4. @dz: I find it’s easiest to just date co-workers. 🙂

  5. eharmony is quite creepy, but my mom likes the ads or wants me to use Internet dating (she met her wonderful kind husband that way). I’ve told her eharmony has rejected me. I’ve also told her I can’t afford to pay for sex, and if I could, I would want to eliminate the middleman anyway.

    And I hate how the Match commercials act like buy six months, get six months free is some great deal. Dude, what if I just want my money back? That’s like being forced into a marriage with a man I barely know who promises me that if I don’t love him after six months, he will buy my groceries for the next six months. Uh, what?

  6. Wow, that’s pretty funny! They kind of do look alike. I’m Jack and I work for eHarmony. We’ve actually never used actors in the commercials and still don’t. There are all kinds of “real people” types in our Success Stories: http://www.eharmony.com/success/videos.

    You might be interested to know…we are also launching a same-sex matching site this March: http://www.eharmony.com/njfaq.

    – Jack

    • @Jack: Hi Jack! Thanks for the info. I’m really glad to know it’s all on the up-and-up, even if it does blow my conspiracy theories out of the water. 😉

      Also, bravo on finally acknowledging the gay community. It’s about freaking time!

  7. I still support your conspiracy theory and my yuk factor, I don’t give a damn what Jack says.

Leave a Reply

