Hell Freezes Over, Pigs Fly, Etc., Etc.

axl-rose-005-imgY’all, I’m still not holding my breath, but according to many, many sources, Guns ‘n Roses is finally releasing Chinese Democracy on November 23. Like I said, I’ll believe it when the disc is in my CD player, but until then, I can’t help but get a little excited. It feels real this time, especially because Rolling Stone‘s already reviewed the album. And it sounds pretty good:

1456551_170x170

“Let’s get right to it: The first Guns n’ Roses album of new, original songs since the first Bush administration is a great, audacious, unhinged and uncompromising hard-rock record. In other words, it sounds a lot like the Guns n’ Roses you know. At times, it’s the clenched-fist five that made 1987’s perfect storm, Appetite for Destruction; more often, it’s the one sprawled across the maxed-out CDs of 1991’s Use Your Illusion I and II, but here compressed into a convulsive single disc of supershred guitars, orchestral fanfares, hip-hop electronics, metallic tabernacle choirs and Axl Rose’s still-virile, rusted-siren singing.”

Oooh, I can’t tell you how excited that makes me! I love, love, love GNR. They’re one of my favorite bands of all time and even though the only thing that remains of the original lineup is crazy-ass Axl, that’s still enough for me to be pretty stoked. If this miracle actually takes place and the CD hits the stores, I’ll have a full review here for you on 11/24. Stay tuned!

7 responses to “Hell Freezes Over, Pigs Fly, Etc., Etc.

  1. angiesyounglover

    on imeem.com, you can listen to some of the songs, if you haven’t heard them already. i’m not sure how i feel about them..

  2. @ayl: I’m doing that as soon as I get home, thanks!

  3. šŸ™‚ !

  4. I’m a GNR fan too, although it’s hard to imagine anything coming close to their initial recordings. Too bad they didn’t completely reunite….they aren’t getting any younger, so I hope this is good!

  5. no freaky friday? šŸ˜„

  6. Pingback: when pigs fly definition | idioMeanings.com

  7. Pingback: when hell freezes over definition | idioMeanings.com

Leave a Reply

