Jen Fights Back

jennifer_aniston_ok_9-3-076

One of the things that irritates me most in current pop culture is the whole “Poor Jennifer Aniston” bit. The tabloids love to throw her on the cover with some sad-sack story about how she’s still crying over Brad Pitt, jealous of Angelina Jolie or just generally pathetically single and desperate. It’s sexist and lame–you don’t ever see “Clooney’s Tears” or “Poor, Lonely Leo” covers.

So, that’s why I was so excited to hear Jen’s finally defending herself a bit in a December Vogue cover story.

anistonvogue1112081I guess even Anna couldn’t resist mentioning Angelina on the cover.

On the “desperate Jen” perception, Aniston tells Vogue:

“There is more to me than just a tabloid girl. This whole ‘Poor lonely Jen’ thing, this idea that I’m so unlucky in love? I actually feel I’ve been unbelievably lucky in love. I don’t feel like I’m supposed to be any further along or somewhere that I’m not. I’m right where I’m supposed to be.”

On her relationship with John Mayer, Aniston says:

“People need to mind their own business.” and then, “It’s funny when you hit a place in a relationship and you both realize [that] we maybe need to do something else, but you still really, really love each other. It’s painful. There was no malicious intent. I deeply, deeply care about him; we talk, we adore one another. And that’s where it is.”

She also addresses the whole Angelina issue, expressing her anger at the way Jolie handled her coupling with Pitt:

“There was stuff printed there that was definitely from a time when I was unaware that it was happening,” Aniston says of comments Jolie made to Vogue a year earlier. “I felt those details were a little inappropriate to discuss. … That stuff about how she couldn’t wait to get to work every day? That was really uncool.”

Whether you like her or not (I do), you have to agree the constant “desperate single girl” shit is so tired, and I’m hoping this will put a little of that to rest. Knowing the tabloids, it probably won’t, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

8 responses to “Jen Fights Back

  1. I feel for the girl. She can’t win either way. I mean, not that she has a hard and troublesome life, but all the tabloid shit must be annoying. She talks about it, it’s “Jen can’t move on!” She doesn’t talk about it, people say it anyway. Which is why she should have a press conference announcing her love of abortion.

    http://breakingblues.wordpress.com/2008/10/23/jennifer-aniston-i-love-abortion/

    Oh, I think what Angie and Brad did was a little shitty. But maybe it is a “realer” love than what Jen and Brad have? I really don’t know. Maybe they were on the outs anyway, and that was the final straw.

  2. Oh, and I am also excited about her being on 30 Rock tomorrow, even if the previews make her out to be a bit too crazy. But I still love 30 Rock and I think that Aniston’s comedic talents have been lost in the tabloid kerfuffles.

  3. Agreed, Lala. She can’t win if she holds her silence and ANYTHING she states will be twisted by others. I think society just refuses to accept the concept of a happy, single, childless female nearing 40!

  4. @AGreenEyeDevil: That’s another thing about it that pisses me off. Because she’s not married and popping out babies, she must be “lonely” or “sad.” That’s such crap. Again, I refer to George Clooney: You never hear people talking about how sad it is that he’s still single and childless. He’s a stud, a hot bachelor, a playboy. It’s such a sexist double standard.

  5. Agreed DottyZ, are women destined to forever just be wives, girlfriends, and baby incubators!?

  6. Firstly, Jen Aniston might not be facing so much tabloid grief if she hadn’t started a ‘war,’ and all that ‘team’ sh*t with Pitt and Jolie 4 years ago. Secondly, SHE is the one who keeps announcing she will have kids, ‘I will and I do!!’ ‘I hope to be on the road to having a family in a year,’ (said 4 years ago post Pitt split) – why is she setting herself up for failure, she should just keep her trap shut. Also, Clooney gets a lot of flack and incessant questions put to him for not wanting to be married and not being a Dad, that’s how we all know about it – because it’s talked about constantly. However there’s a difference between Clooney and Aniston, he says he wants no part of it, she has been yammering on about how she does better in a partnership, how she will be married again, how she will have kids…and as such, every potential suitor or PR inspired photo-op with a ‘date’ is made on over, as the possible ‘one,’ who will rescue Poor Jen whose greatest wish is to find someone and have a family. SHE said it. So all the other lonely hearts who identify with her more than they do Jolie, are always hoping, wishing and praying that she can find the one. Aniston caused this nonsense, when she did her ‘tell all,’ in Vanity Fair,’ it was a tacky no-class move, and it’s her fault that she’d rather portray herself as the woman scorned rather than a dignified independent strong woman. Alas, that’s not what she is – the proof is her reaching back two years into the past and worrying over a benign sentence from Jolie. Aniston IS a pathetic loser, that’s why she’ll be poor Jen forever.

  7. angiesyounglover

    @chachacha85: while i agree with you on the clooney front (he has recieved flack for his bachelor status), i think it’s really harsh to say she is a pathetic loser. so she said she wanted to have kids and haven’t, so she said she longs for partnership and has been on the in and out with mayer, and so she wants to clear her name, finally say her piece…she’s a pathetic loser? yeah, that’s not fair at fucking all.

    anyway, i just watched her on oprah. she was on for the first 20 minutes. i like her.

  8. Aniston reacts to the words/actions of her ex’s with admirable composure; after recent events i am more inclined to give her some props

Leave a Reply

