New (Not So) Secret Shame

My boyfriend regularly teases me for watching trash television. He gets exasperated watching clips of The Hills and Rock of Love on The Soup, and then always turns to me, saying “You’re part of the reason this crap is on the air!” And you know, he’s right. But as I said in defense of myself the other day, sometimes a little trash television is a good thing. It gives my mind a chance to relax and get lost in something meaningless and fun. And sometimes, it answers the “Whatever happened to so-and-so…” questions I have, like VH1’s Celebrity Rehab does. The show is back for a second season and the cast is pretty stellar:Let me begin by saying, if a show has Gary Busey in it, I’m probably going to watch it. Especially if he’s appearing as himself. Yes, I know his insanity is brought on by a mixture of prolonged drug abuse and a head injury from a motorcycle accident, but that doesn’t make it any less entertaining. In the first episode, Busey is convinced he’s there as a counselor, not a patient. So convinced that he introduces himself in the first group session as such. And y’all, it’s kind of hilarious.

I’m a huge Guns ‘n Roses fan, so I was kind of stoked to see former GNR drummer Steven Adler in the mix as well. Adler, who was kicked out of the band for his drug addiction, is apparently still struggling with dependency.

And, OMG, Rodney King! Holy crap, I totally forgot about him!

The first episode has already aired (check it out in reruns), and it looks like this season’s going to be pretty good. New episodes air Thursdays at 9 p.m. And in case you missed the first episode, here’s a little taste of Busey:

One response to “New (Not So) Secret Shame

  1. My coworkers were discussing this and someone didn’t know who Rodney King was.

    SOB.

Leave a Reply

