A True Feminist Hero

Six weeks after her husband admitted his extra-marital affair, Elizabeth Edwards is finally speaking out in an interview with the Detroit Free Press.

Asked whether she has forgiven her husband, Edwards said:

“I don’t want to feed the monster, if you don’t mind.”

She added that if she had her leg amputated, as opposed to her husband having an affair, people would not ask: “Are you over that leg thing yet?”

She also said:

“People had this idea that we represented, as a couple, some sort of perfection … There is no perfection out there.”

Edwards is keeping busy these days continuing her advocacy work (she testifies before Congress on health care reform on Thursday) and spending time with her children, Cate, 26, Emma Claire, 10, and Jack, 8.

Not even cancer and a cheating louse of a husband can keep this woman down, and I love her for it. She’s a true feminist icon/hero, unlike some people who will remain nameless.

8 responses to “A True Feminist Hero

  1. yes, good! i’m so sick of people talking shit on her for keeping quiet about this. even if she had chosen not to say a word about the affair, she’s still amazing and deserves kind words. no one who hasn’t gone through it knows what it feels like and it’s a very personal matter, no matter who your husband is or what his profession is.

  2. Like Jessica Simpson?
    http://www.people.com/people/article/0,,20226896,00.html

    Apparently, she’s making a stand for women’s rights. Hahahaha. Now, I’m all for her donating money to a rape crisis center, but the things she’s saying along with it? Bull.

    Sorry to go OT. But I do think Elizabeth Edwards is conducting herself as gracefully as possible, and I admire her for that. I wish she would divorce her SOB husband, rather than stand by him, but I’m not her, so I have no idea what she’s going through.

  3. I admire her grace in a time like this. I wish she would leave John’s sorry arse, but again, can’t blame her for not doing it. Every marriage is complicated, she is correct. The most “perfect” seeming marriages are often the ones where the trouble and discord are lurking underneath.

  4. She just continues to confirm her very high seat once she arrives in heaven. John does not deserve her, damnit.

  5. Oh my lawd, that nameless person you’re referring to better not be the Hill-Dogg! Remember, I might see you next weekend. Beat down.

  6. @Lizzie: No dude! I’m talking about that poofy-haired disgrace to women that McCain picked as a running mate. I love me some Hills!

  7. That is such a perfect response, it makes me love her even more.

  8. Ha….just making sure! I still can’t get over Van Palin.

Leave a Reply

