Intervention: Now With Happy Endings

 

This season of A&E’s “Intervention” has something that many of the previous seasons seemed to lack: happy endings. Take last night’s subject, Allison. Did anyone expect this girl to rebound?

But, she did. And so has just about every other subject this season. And I think I know why:

That’s Lawrence, a 34-year-old business owner from Las Vegas. And at the end, HE DIED. Y’all, that was harsh. I remember watching it the first time and just being speechless at the ending. It’s sad when they relapse or go to jail or drop out of rehab, but to know he died was just heartbreaking.

And I think A&E realized that. Yes, that’s the reality of drug use/alcoholism. People die. But, I think the network realized we needed a little happiness to help make up for the kick in the stomach that was the Lawrence episode. And honestly, I’m glad. It’s nice to see so many people getting it right.

6 responses to “Intervention: Now With Happy Endings

  1. I’ve only watched the program a couple of times, but it’s quite real. Glad they are showing the full balance of outcomes. I just wish people could always learn from watching the trials/tribulations of others.

  2. The internetz – it iz luzing mei comnts – ARGGHHH!

    This is an interesting show, for the few times I’ve watched. I appreciate their full scope of outcomes, but only wish folks could truly learn from the trials/tribulations of others.

  3. @AGreenEyeDevil: I don’t know why WordPress is sending your comments to the spam folder. Bad, WordPress! Bad!

  4. I appreciate when they show both the sad and happy endings b/c it shows that addiction isn’t as simple as getting someone into a treatment facility, they have to want to get better too.

  5. @The Domina: That’s true. I also like it when they show people who’ve stayed in treatment longer than the 90 days, or those who move into a sober living facility after leaving rehab. I just think that’s a more realistic picture of the length of time and amount of effort it takes to stay clean.

  6. Pingback: Tragic Intervention « Bubblegum Culture

Leave a Reply

