Freaky Friday Flashback

That pic’s for MBB, for reminding me of how much I love this movie.

Happy Friday, y’all! The day and week are almost over and I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for the weekend. And there’s no better way to start than with a fond look back at one of the WTF? moments in pop culture history. Today we go aaalllll the way back to 1981. Yours truly was admittedly just a tyke, but this is a story I grew up with, a story that scared me like none other, a story that almost made me believe my father when he said this guy was the devil:

Remember when Ozzy used to be kinda scary? Yeah, “The Osbournes” all but killed that, didn’t it?

Anyway, this is a story you all know and love, a story that sounds too gory to be true. But in fact, dear readers, it is. In 1981, Osbourne released his second solo album, “Diary of a Madman,” and went on his “Night of the Living Dead” tour to promote it. During the tour, Osbourne pelted his fans nightly with 25 lbs. of meat, inspiring them to bring their own to throw back at him on stage. One enterprising fan in Des Moines, IA took it one step further though. Once the meat tossing began, this fan launched a live bat on stage. Stunned by the lights, the poor bat lay motionless, and Osbourne, thinking it was a rubber prop, picked it up and chomped down on its neck. Once Osbourne realized it wasn’t a toy, he was rushed to the hospital to be tested for rabies. And sadly, the bat died. 😦

Anyway, I don’t have footage of that (thank God!), but I do have a rockin’ video from before Ozzy got all soft (burnt out). Happy Friday!

2 responses to “Freaky Friday Flashback

  1. AGreenEyeDevil

    What goof heads, Ozzy AND the guy that brought the bat! Geez, at least 5% of ALL bats carry rabies and that’s a conservative stat. I have a very healthy fear/respect for bats and go in the opposite direction the moment I see one.

  2. myrtlebeachbum

    I was fucking TERRIFIED of Ozzy b/c of this story. I remember my babysitter listening to his music when she wasn’t watching soaps or eating all the food in the house or making out with her boyfriend, and I was too afraid to tell my mom that clearly she was a Satanist.

    Also thank you v. much for the “Friday” shoutout. You and I are identicle bloggers today, apparently.

Leave a Reply

