We’re Not in Kansas Anymore

So, I’m in Iowa right now and y’all, it’s kinda scary out there right now. I just got back from a friend’s house and as we sat on her porch drinking, we were serenaded by the sounds of the tornado sirens going off. Me, being a girl from the South, I was shitting my pants and wondering why we weren’t heading to the storm cellar to take cover. Meanwhile, everyone else sat drinking their beers, cool as cucumbers, telling me I had nothing to worry about. They ended up being right, but it got me thinking–maybe the Wizard of Oz isn’t the best movie for kids. I think I’ve got some lasting tornado fears from watching Dorothy and Co. get sucked up in the twister. No place like home, indeed.

Leave a Reply

