Me Go to the Bookstore Today

Today’s the day, y’all!

David Sedaris’ new book, “When You Are Engulfed in Flames,” is out today. For the uninitiated, Sedaris is a frequent contributor on NPR and author of several hilarious essay collections including “Me Talk Pretty One Day” and “Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim.” He’s also the brother of Amy “Strangers with Candy” Sedaris.

I have been looking forward to this day since I read the last page of his most recent book. Sedaris is one of a very short list of writers whose books have not only made me laugh out loud, but made me cackle like a nut in the institution. His writing makes me want to throw my computer out the window because I know I’ll never be even remotely as funny or charming.

And on a personal level, I loved that many of his stories were set in Raleigh, where he grew up and I used to live. I got the distinct pleasure two years ago of writing a review of Amy’s cookbook/entertaining guide, “I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence,” for the Raleigh newspaper. The day it was published, the elder Mr. Sedaris left a very kind message on my voicemail, telling me he’d loved the review and planned on showing it to Amy. Needless to say, it was one of the greatest moments of my life.

So, go get the book, and until then, enjoy this clip of David on Letterman, reading one of his essays:

One response to “Me Go to the Bookstore Today

  1. Ohh the elder Sedaris as in Daddy Sedaris (is he still alive?) or David Sedaris? Either way, kick ass! I wish someone really funny came from one of the towns I’ve lived in….nope, can’t think of anyone.

Leave a Reply

